Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Patch 2: Strega drummy thing

Strega just for drones they say, I say no, they are wrong, Strega does lots more, it takes time to explore it's many talents, watch today's video for more context.

Intro

Make Noise are a company I’ve heard a great about but up until now haven’t owned or even used any of their physical products, other than the VCV Rack software versions. Two weeks ago I purchased their Strega Synth together with the 0-CTRL sequencer and have been tinkering with them over the past weekend. First attempts were a bit iffy but that was ok, since this synth breaks the mould, nothing is standard about - I love it!

Percussive sounds

I’ve seen various demonstrations online where the Strega has been patched to create percussive sounds and interesting rhythms, so thanks to the Youtube community for such great inspiration. Today’s video is vaguely based on something I learnt from the Make Noise Youtube channel but the next video will be based on something I’ve devised myself.

The Strega can be a bit “noisy”, a bit aggressive if you tweak it too much, it is capable of subtlety though and it’s a case of finding the sweet spots, we shall later explore controlling it via MIDI keyboards, which may be easier with the 0-Coast when I get that, the Strega is CV controlled only, the Coast can also work with MIDI.

Not sure why it did that?

Apologies, the instrument audio sounds quiet to me when playing back, not sure, must be an OBS setup problem. The video is a bit artefacty for some reason. so a couple of things to resolve for the next video I do. Extra apologies for an untidy desk but it looks “interesting” though.

Next time round, I am going to include the Roland S-1, as I’ve had some great results when practicing and I am going to be off for a few days now. I hope to put up some more content again next week.

Looking to buy the 0-Coast next, that’ll complement it nicely.

Modulations is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments
Modulations
Modulations
Authors
Nick Lewis