Modulations
Modulations Podcast
Compositional journal: "Halcyon 1" (WIP)
0:00
-1:26

Compositional journal: "Halcyon 1" (WIP)

You just can't beat the sound of analogue synthesizers and accepting influences
Transcript

No transcript...

I proudly present another new piece of music which I’ve labeled in the heading as a work in progress and that is because I sat down last night at about 10pm in the office/studio/spare room (or not so spare anymore) to write some music, only intending to lay down some chords but I ended up doing 4 tracks across 30+ bars and I exported this rough version, demo version if you like at midnight.

Crashed out and slept well.

Share Modulations

I was really pleased with how this shaped up, it just flowed, the chords, led next to the lead synth, I let the chords loop a few times, rehearsed my idea for the lead coming up with a few variations before hitting the record to commit it to the drive. I’ll normally go into the notes grid at this point and tidy up, a process of manual quantisation in a sense but I chose not to. I moved on to some FX and then the bass.

The bass is based on Model D style synth from the Moogg world but is called Mini D, available as plugin for the MPC series. I used nothing more than my MPC One+ for composing this song.

Where next? I’l’ tidy up some of the notes timing but I prefer to keep it all sounding as live as I can. I will further develop the track before I release it on Spotify sometime next year under my Nicholas EB Lewis Artist brand.

Talking of which you can listen to my existing track on there, this will grow though, as the MPC has sped up my workflow much like the Syntakt another Groovebox instrument that I own.

Did you guess who the inspiration might have been. Clue, French musician, used to put on some massive concerts with lots of lasers!

Modulations is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments
Modulations
Modulations Podcast
Making music on your Mac/iPad. Exploring sounds, sequences, software and hardware. Plus other audio goodness.