Modulations
Modulations Podcast
Week #13 - Digitakt, Zoom H6 and Eurorack
2
0:00
-7:00

Week #13 - Digitakt, Zoom H6 and Eurorack

Talking about a setup that makes use of a Digitakt/Eurorack combination recorded into the Zoom H6 Handy Recorder
2

Well it’s Good Friday and the start of the long Easter weekend here in the south of England and I can’t tell you how the weather is today because this is pre-recorded, it had better be good and not a damp squib of a weekend like a lot of bank holidays in the UK!

Today’s podcast focuses on a setup comprising of an Elektron Digitakt, that is sequencing a modular rack in conjunction with some samples. All of which is being recorded with the mix from my condenser mic into the Zoom H6. It is a very good setup and I can switch up the bitrate on this next time. Recorded in 44.1Khz/16 bits, could go for higher!

Right now it is sat on my desktop with my Rode NTS condenser microphone plugged into it’s port 1 with some phantom power switched on to boost the external mircophone, which was very easy to set up via the menu system. I’ve only just got this microphone and I’ve purchased it for the purposes of getting into field recording with it. You see I have a number of projects in mind for which it will come in very handy indeed.

Where do I want this podcast to go in the future? What content do I wish to concentrate on here that will keep people interested. The ability to record the podcast wherever I may be and sometimes it may need to be recorded in a number of different sections, such as from here in the “studio”, which I hate saying because it’s my home office! A cafe in the middle of Reading or a village miles away from anywhere. Then I will use it to record sounds, to form parts of sound design projects and ultimately music. To build a sound library, something that I could sell to you and other people.

Field recording is something I’ve always wanted to do and I have done so in a loose kind of way but now, I want to buckle on up and do so with “intention”. That word crops up a lot these days, as we all want to lead more intentful lives.

2 Comments
Modulations
Modulations Podcast
Making music on your Mac/iPad. Exploring sounds, sequences, software and hardware. Plus other audio goodness.